Rule 8, Section 1, Article 3, Item 5 of the NFL rulebook states:
Simultaneous catch. If a pass is caught simultaneously by two eligible opponents, and both players retain it, the ball belongs to the passers. It is not a simultaneous catch if a player gains control first and an opponent subsequently gains joint control. If the ball is muffed after simultaneous touching by two such players, all the players of the passing team become eligible to catch the loose ball.
Last night this was the rule that came into play. Came into question. Came to be famous.
The prayers of the New Orleans Saints have been answered.
According to sources, a three-man arbitration panel has overturned the suspensions of the four players connected to the Saints’ bounty scandal. Thus allowing Jonathan Vilma, Will Smith, Scott Fujita and Anthony Hargrove to return to the field as soon as this very weekend.
“Victory is mine!!!!- Stewie Griffin,” Vilma tweeted.
Unfortunately this decision affects only the players involved. Coaches Gregg Williams, Sean Payton and Joe Vitt will continue to serve their suspensions.
Last year, Tyrann Mathieu was a finalist for the Heisman Trophy. Today, he is without a team.
The LSU Tigers have dismissed Mathieu, last year’s Chuck Bednarik Award recipient as the nation’s top defensive player, after repeated violations of the team’s substance-abuse policy.